My Surprise Trip to Huntington, NY

So, I’ve had a huge obsession with the band, Hanson (yes, as in MMMBOP…they have made 7 other albums since that and they aren’t like MMMBOP at all!) since I was, oh, 8 years old. My amazing boyfriend sneakily found tickets to their concert in Huntington, NY (down in Long Island) over Labor Day weekend. He told me to clear my schedule for that Sunday night-Monday and that we’d be taking a road trip. I had no idea what we were doing and where we were going but I was just excited that he actually planned to take me somewhere, I didn’t care! (Disclaimer: I’ve dated idiots who never took me anywhere, let alone actually plan anything)

My Boyfriend and I
My Boyfriend and I

Anyways, as we were heading through New Jersey (a clever detour to throw me off, even though I’ve never been to Long Island so I wouldn’t know where we were anyways,) I was starting to really wonder where we were going! We eventually made it to Huntington, which I had never heard of (fun facts: the hit TV show, Growing Pains was set in this town, and Mariah Carey and Christie Brinkley hail from here as well!) and checked into our beautifully renovated Holiday Inn that had just won Forbes’ awards for nicest renovation. At this point, I thought this nice surprise trip to this awesome hotel and town was my surprise and was loving it!

Our Beautiful Holiday Inn
Our Beautiful Holiday Inn

We headed to Samurai, a delicious Japanese steakhouse that he made reservations for ahead of time and had a lovely dinner outside enjoying the balmy end of summer breeze and people-watched. After that, he told me that we still had some time to kill before the actual surprise. We decided to stroll along the streets and check out the great local shops. The town is quaint with a historic feel. We walked along side-streets and up and down roads lined with old brick buildings, walls with murals, and adorable local shops with handmade jewelry, home accessories, and clothes. We stopped for frozen yogurt before embarking on the actual surprise.

Dinner at the Delicious Samurai
Dinner at the Delicious Samurai
Huntington, NY
Huntington, NY
A Fabulous Labor Day Weekend!
A Fabulous Labor Day Weekend!

I’m getting excited typing this, and love this part. It was getting dark out, and we started to head towards this mysterious surprise of mine. My boyfriend was doing a great job at pointing different things out and keeping my eyes off of the giant building where we were headed, so I had no clue what was about to happen. As we get right up to the Paramount Theater, I look up just in time to see HANSON: LIVE TONIGHT! ANTHEM WORLD TOUR! scrolling on the marquee. I stopped and thought I was going to burst into tears….seriously, I love them. We headed inside and seriously rocked out to all of their greatest and latest hits. If I needed any other verification as to how much I loved my boyfriend, the fact that he planned this entire trip, drove 4 1/2 hours down to Long Island, and put up with a sold out Paramount of hundreds of screaming girls really made me realize it!

DSC02634 DSC02662 DSC02671 DSC02694

Leave a Reply

