Hotlanta: Fun For All Ages

I guess I’m a little biased writing about Atlanta since my family lives here and I naturally love it, but Atlanta really is a great city with lots of fun, interesting, and educational things to do there!

Photo Courtesy of: http://momaboard.com/cities/north-america/atlanta-georgia/
Photo Courtesy of: http://momaboard.com/cities/north-america/atlanta-georgia/

The last time I did a lot of “touristy” things in Atlanta, I was very young and in 4th grade (I also made my 4th grade State Fair project on all the cool things Atlanta has to offer.) Let’s start off with the most obvious: the World of Coca Cola Museum. Very cool, very hands on, very fun, and will provide you with hours of a very great sugar high. Not only is it a hands on museum where you can touch things, but you can also taste test all the different kinds of coke they make and some from different countries that we don’t get here. My favorites are Cherry and Vanilla Coke, what about you?

Photo Courtesy of: http://thefigureoffun.blogspot.com/2011/01/coca-cola-museum_09.html
Photo Courtesy of: http://thefigureoffun.blogspot.com/2011/01/coca-cola-museum_09.html

Another great thing to do while in Atlanta is check out the CNN Center. I just want to add that I made a stellar papier-mache sculpture of the connected CNN letters for my project. But I digress. The CNN building of course offers tours to get an inside look on the news station that is always providing you with the latest breaking news. While you’re downtown, be sure to also take a stroll through the Centennial Olympic Park and their awesome fountain and water show. If you’re in the mood for seeing one of the best aquariums in the U.S., then march yourself over to the Georgia Aquarium. This isn’t just like any aquarium, you guys, this is one of the world’s largest aquariums filled with over 8 million gallons of water! There’s a lot of cool fish in there, I promise. I went back when I was senior in high school and still found it fascinating.

Images Courtesy of: http://www.flickr.com/groups/83726877@N00/
Images Courtesy of: http://www.flickr.com/groups/83726877@N00/

My most recent visit to Atlanta was this past July to visit my family who lives in Alpharetta, Georgia, about 30 minutes outside of Atlanta. Alpharetta reminds me of any beautifully kept up city, and a little like Saratoga, NY. There’s tons of local restaurants, shops and cafes, as well as larger chains, always giving you something to do. My favorite part of Alpharetta was getting my nails done with two of my favorite cousins, Ashley and Emily, for my birthday. This woman does amazing nail art, as you can see below. I watched her in amazement, and have since tried doing my nails like this on my own, only to fail miserably. Oh well, guess I’ll need to book another trip down there!

Our Nails! Mine are Tie-Dyed
Our Nails! Mine are Tie-Dyed

My family also owns an amazingly-mouth-watering-delicious-melt-in-your-mouth ice cream shop called Bruster’s. They made my ice cream birthday cake and I can honestly say that I’ve never tasted ice cream like that before! It was so creamy, delectable, and just…delicious…I can’t even think of another word to describe it, and I’m not just saying that because they’re family. So after you’ve sweat your buns off walking around downtown Atlanta, head over to Bruster’s for some perfect ice cream in any flavor you can think of, and tell them I sent you 🙂

My Amazingly Delicious Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Cake From Bruster's
My Amazingly Delicious Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Cake From Bruster’s

Another family-friendly activity around Alpharetta would be to visit Stone Mountain. If you’ve ever heard of it, or seen pictures, yes, there really is a giant Confederate Memorial carving in this massive mountain! At first I was staring at it trying to figure out what it was, then realized it was a carving once we got closer. I wonder how long that even took to do? We had a great picnic dinner  in front of the mountain while we all waited for the laser light show to start. The light show gives you look into the history of the South, while making it fun and entertaining with the music and light show. Did you know that the B-52’s were from Atlanta?! I didn’t, but you’ll find out more things like that during the light show.

Having Fun at Stone Mountain
Having Fun at Stone Mountain

A great thing about flying to Atlanta is that you can easily find non-stop flights from wherever you are. If we could find a non-stop flight from little Syracuse, NY, you can easily find one from where you are. Another tip for your stay in Atlanta would be to book a hotel outside of the city, like we did in Alpharetta. Naturally, it’s less expensive, and traveling into the downtown area isn’t very hard.

Photo Courtesy of: http://www.gluten.net/local-branches/georgia/atlanta/default.aspx
Photo Courtesy of: http://www.gluten.net/local-branches/georgia/atlanta/default.aspx

Well, travelers, I hope I’ve sold you on the great things Atlanta has to offer! Clearly it’s a family-friendly town, while still being so much fun for adults and older kids, too! If you see any of my family down there, tell them hi, and ask Emily and Ashley to see their nails, they always have something different painted on them 🙂

Leave a Reply

