Jeer of the Week: Long Flights

I don’t know about you guys, but long flights pretty much kill me. It makes me dread visiting my family in California, and don’t even get me started on the time I went to Hawaii from New York.  How do you all deal with long flights?!

Touchdown: Chicago

London based travel journalist, Mark Hodson, recently wrote for the Huffington Post that the most stress-inducing part of flying is the fact that passengers typically don’t have any control over what happens. He gave some great tips and tricks to help your next grueling flight (hey, even the 45 minute ones can be brutal if you hate flying!)

Image Courtesy of: http://croissantcraic.blogspot.com/2011/07/croissant-craic-travel-tips-1.html

One of my favorite tips that he mentioned (which I always try to ensure for myself) is to get an aisle seat. Who cares about that drink cart? Do you really want to be stuck in the middle or window seat when both passengers on either side of you have dozed off and you have to go to the bathroom? That’s happened to me one too many times and made me vow to always book an aisle seat.

Photo Courtesy of: http://www.sodahead.com/living/perfect-plane-seat-pinpointed-where-do-you-prefer-to-sit-on-an-airplane/question-2621540/?link=ibaf&q=airplane+aisle+seat&imgurl=http://images.sodahead.com/polls/002621540/5155341922_Plane_interior_xlarge.jpeg

Another great tip is to walk, walk, walk. Walk through the airports, through your terminal, or through different tourist shops. If you’re going to be sitting for a while in a cramped seat, I would suggest you stand as long as you can. Walking a lot also reduces your risk for blood clots, so get your pedometers ready.

Photo Courtesy of: http://blackdoctor.org/3933/holiday-travel-tips-that-will-keep-you-fit/

There are tons of other helpful hints in this article, so I will leave the rest for you so as not to spoil it. He truly lays out the ways to make flying and traveling as easy as possible, so take notes!

2 thoughts on “Jeer of the Week: Long Flights

  1. I think aisle seat also feels slightly less coffin-ish.
    I can’t sleep on flights either, so I load up with podcasts, daydreams I’ve been meaning to have. As long as you can keep the curious middle seat neighbor from figuring out what you’re doing, it can also be prime time to work on one’s budget. 🙂

    1. I agree!! I always make sure I get the aisle seat. It just makes moving around, whether on the plane or in your seat, so much easier. Flights are always a great time to get some important things done or catch up on some reading since I can never sleep on them! Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

